Untitled Document

Attorney Juskewitch Request Free Personal Injury Consultation

Personal Injury Lawyer, Accident Attorney - Juskewitch Law Office
   
Steven Juskewitch for District Attorney Hancock County Maine

Criminal-Defence-Attorney For Drug Charges

Accused of DUI/DWI or Traffic Violations In Maine?
David M. Lurie, Criminal Defense Attorney and Counselor at Law - 32 Years of Experience in subsequent, repeat, persistent and prior offender DUI/DWI Defense

Driving while intoxicated or driving while under the influence of alcohol or narcotics (DWI or DUI) are serious offenses that carry heavy penalties for repeat offenders. If you are charged as a prior, persistent, chronic or aggravated offender ( 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th offense or more), you need an experienced DWI/DUI criminal defense lawyer. The terms above are the ones used in the Missouri statutes. The Kansas statutes refer to them as first conviction, second conviction, third conviction, and fourth or subsequent convictions.

 

 
The Juskewitch Law Firm

DUI and DWI Criminal Defense Lawyer

Even if this is your first DWI/DUI charge, and not a repeat offense, you still need an experienced DUI lawyer - one who deals with prior, persistent, chronic or aggravated offenders on a regular basis. Many attorneys can handle a first-time DWI/DUI offense, but there are fewer attorneys who are experienced in cases where people are facing charges for second or greater offenses.

Many times, I have found that if even your first DUI isn't handled by an attorney who deals with prior, persistent, chronic or aggravated offenders ( 2nd, 3rd, 4th, or 5th or more offenses) on a regular basis, it can really limit the number of options when you get another DUI charge down the road. Because of the successful lobbying of Mother's Against Drunk Drivers, and other groups, penalties are much steeper than they used to be. Even first-timers are going to jail these days.

If you have previous arrests, and are being charged as a prior, persistent, chronic or aggravated offender (2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th offense or more), you face much stiffer penalties. Your previous record will be a factor, regardless of whether you had a prior offense "taken care of". Even if the prior offense doesn't appear on your official driving record, it will most likely appear in records available to law enforcement and the prosecution - leaving potential exposure to felony prosecution under the prior, persistent, chronic and aggravated offender statutes in Missouri. If you are a prior offender - it is necessary for you to get an experienced lawyer, like me.

Because of my experience and full understanding of the underlying issues that may cause a person to become DUI prior, persistent, chronic or aggravated offender (depression, alcoholism, drug addiction, etc.), through the years I have developed an individualized plan for each of my clients, and use my team of experts to help mitigate the mandatory minimum jail times that can range from 5 days to 2 years - depending on how many subsequent DUI offenses you have had. I have been very successful in keeping subsequent offenders out of jail.

I truly believe that every bad decision is a chance to make a better one in the future. I will help change how the prosecution and judge will look at your case and any DUI/DWI charges, so that you are able to get on with your life. mitigate, not litigation, will help you move on faster.

There is also a second consequence that arises out of a DUI/DWI stop - it is the administrative suspension of your driving privileges. License suspension or revocation (because of a blood alcohol content level in excess of .08 or a refusal to take the test) can last from 30 days to one year - sometimes it is ten years, or even permanent. The rules covering loss of license are complicated. If you have questions, please contact me or at least speak with another qualified attorney who handles DUI/DWI prior or persistent, repeat offender cases.

If you refuse a breath test, the officer will immediately take your license, and your license will be suspended for at least one year. This can be appealed, but in Kansas, you only have ten (10) days to file an appeal based on a Refusal. In Missouri, you have thirty (30) days.

You need to act fast - so call me. Help is here.

Hit and Run Charges
In addition to drunk driving, another traffic violation that requires immediate attorney assistance is a hit and run situation (also called leaving the scene of an accident).

Most individuals don't leave the scene of an accident because they are bad people - you have just struck something with your car. In many cases, the driver is not even sure what happened, or may have been drunk or under the influence of drugs. For many, a panic button is triggered and the "fight or flight" response carries them away from the scene. You need an attorney who can present your situation to the prosecutor in the most favorable light possible to minimize the penalties you face for leaving the scene of an accident.

Facing Traffic Violation Charges
While a speeding ticket or other minor traffic violations may seem like a simple thing to deal with, just paying that fine and sending in that guilty plea can have consequences that outweigh the benefits of "just getting it over with." These include insurance rates rising, as well as jeopardizing your license with points in Missouri or a moving violation in Kansas. With a simple speeding ticket or other minor traffic violation ticket, I can represent you and handle everything - you won't even need to appear in court. Contact me today about your speeding or other minor traffic violation ticket so we can prevent or minimize any negative effects on your license.

A suspended or revoked driver's license can put your livelihood at risk. For example, you may need it to drive to school or work. However, if your license has been suspended or revoked, you do have options, such as:

Undoing tickets you just paid without considering the license consequences
Appeals
Hardship licenses
An experienced attorney will be able to help you determine the options before you and the best path to take.

Driving with a suspended or revoked license carries significant penalties. In Kansas, driving when your license has been revoked for an alcohol-related offense carries mandatory jail time. You need an attorney who can present your case in the best possible light and minimize the penalties you face for driving with a suspended license.

Our Goal
When you have been charged with driving with a suspended license, or leaving the scene of an accident (hit and run), there are not many defenses. Your license was suspended - that's a fact. You left the scene - that's a fact. The best defense to these charges is to minimize the impact of any penalties you face. An attorney who works daily with prosecutors to discuss a client's situation and offer reasons for leniency has the experience you need in these situations.

Contact me toll free at 207-667-0483. We will talk about your situation and how I can help you frame your case and mitigate the penalties. You can also reach me through the Web site.


Web Design
Web Design Services LogoMaster.com
SEO by A1A-web-design.com